View Full Version : Polk Monitor 5JR -- good speakers?

akahn
08-22-2005, 12:26 PM
I've noticed that there are some fans of the Polk Monitor series here, but mostly the 7 model. Is the 5JR model also a good performer? I have the opportunity to buy one in near-new shape for $80 locally. This seems like a good deal to me, but I don't know much about these speakers. How would you describe these speakers? How might they compare to original Advents or Avid 102s (the only speakers I have extensive experience with)?

Thanks for any info or advice!

Bigerik
08-22-2005, 12:58 PM
To be honest, I like them all. If I remember correctly, there were 2 Five jrs: One had only the woofer and tweeter. The other had a small passive radiator, much like the regular Five. Looks just like it had 2 woofers. Any idea which one you are looking at?
While the 7 is the one that pretty well established Polk, the others make nice music too. While not what some would call a "high end" speaker (in that they are not super detailed, nor do they image incredibly), they are a very nice sounding speaker to listen to. You can just sit for hours and enjoy music. Not a terrible thing, in my opinion....
Oh, and for $80 you can't go wrong.
Erik

PS when you get them, let us know your thoughts.

akahn
08-22-2005, 12:59 PM
One more thing: is it going to be an issue that these are rated at 4 ohms? Is that going to be too much to handle for my Yamaha CR-640?

akahn
08-22-2005, 01:06 PM
To be honest, I like them all. If I remember correctly, there were 2 Five jrs: One had only the woofer and tweeter. The other had a small passive radiator, much like the regular Five. Looks just like it had 2 woofers. Any idea which one you are looking at?