Yamaha NS-2000 1st Impressions

elrod

I've been using a pair of NS-1000s for the past four years and they sounded great. But I had that itch that I just couldn't scratch, reading all the rave reviews of the NS-2000s. Watching for NS-2000 to come up for sale can be a lesson in futility, so I decided to use Hi-Fi Do in Japan. They were actually priced pretty reasonable, but it's just the #@*!# shipping cost that really makes you pause. I'm not a young man and didn't know how much older I was willing to get, so I bit the bullet and went for it.

Hi-Fi Do's packing was fantastic and they arrived in four days once shipped. I've enclosed some pics so you can see how well they pack. Also took some pics of the 2000s next to the 1000s for reference, as I was trying to find a picture of that earlier but had no luck

I run 10 gauge zip cord and that does fit in the OEM binding post. Listening to them, all I can saw is "wow"! They take listening to an entirely different level. Trying to avoid the hyperbole, the separation, soundstage and drivers just seem to be so much improved, and these elements just seem to melt together into realism. Everything just seems to be so much more alive. I can't sense any real coloration at all - they just sound pure.

The best part of this is, that with the 2000s, I'm completely satisfied with my system (see my signature) The only upgrade I may contemplate is a DAC running the ESS ES9038PRO SABRE DAC chipset when they become more readily available.

If anyone was contemplating getting the NS-2000's all I can say is do it. The audio bliss will last long after the sting of purchasing them wears off

DSCN1201.JPG DSCN1205.JPG DSCN1206.JPG DSCN1210.JPG DSCN1211.JPG DSCN1212.JPG DSCN1213.JPG DSCN1217.JPG DSCN1228.JPG DSCN1226.JPG

very nice pickup, would love to hear them.

also can't help but notice the striking resemblance to the onkyo scepter 5001, very cool