McIntosh ML-1C speakers

Bob N.

I am a complete newbie to this sort of thing, but my late father (a McIntosh nut) had a pair of ML-1C speakers (which I believe are non-functioning. though I don't know why/how) and I'm curious if they're worth fixing/selling?

Any information would be greatly appreciated

Hi Bob,
That is a tough call without knowing what is actually wrong them. They are quite heavy so to sell them would be a local thing. There is a growing appreciation for these though and you may not want to sell them after you hear them and they were your dad's. :)

Carl

Keep 'em, they don't make speakers like that anymore and there is always going to be a market for vintage McIntosh. Here's a good place for info on anything McIntosh
http://www.roger-russell.com/lsd1.htm#updateml1c
About the only thing that would be wrong with them is the foam surrounds are probably deteriorated and the crossovers may have issues. If the crossovers were fried so too might the tweeters be, it is unlikely, however, that any of the other voice coils in the drivers were damaged, they're very tough speakers. Even if you end up wanting to sell them they're worth fixing first because they'll bring a better price

Bob, I second amason's view; keep them! I just won a pair of XR 6's for my brother, who just getting back into vintange gear again like myself, and even though they need to be refoamed on both pair, I feel that for a couple of hundred dollars spent, I just couldn't find a pair of speakers like these nowadays!
The ones I got for him are in wonderful condition, and they're built like the tank that is Mc's norm., and they have a wonderful history to them.( read RR's history on Mc speakers)
I think you'd be best suited to fix them up and enjoy them! I just don't think they make speakers like these anymore. The wood work on these XR 6's I just got is just wonderful, and boy they are heavy too!