What TT's do you folks have

Thorens 125-II, SME 3009 Series 2, Shure V15-VxMR
Thorens125II.gif
As a fellow td124(mine actually a td121) ,do you find the bass and drive of the idlers far superior to the belt drive 125? I find this to be so and some relief is to be found in the "correct timing of the direct drive". As well as my td121,I now only have technics sp25 and sl1401 models. I find that the idler can fathom the depths and do stop start in the music better but the 121/124 thorens are high maintainance decks, compared to technics.

I own a Marantz 6300 purchased new in 1976. Extra fine condition. I use medium quality moving magnet cartridges in the Marantz headshells. One is a 26 year old Signet AM-40S, the other is my regular use AT440MLB.

Welcome to the AK turn table forum. :)

The venerable TD-124

The only table in daily use these days around my house the the old warhorse Thorens TD-124/SME/SPU combonation that I've been using for about ten years. I came across the old Thorens randomly and bought it on a whim. Even then, in need of a LOT of work and tweaking there was something MAGIC about this table. I was a devoted LP-12 owner for some time until the Thorens (and the SPU!) stole my heart away and I doubt I could ever go back. I am well aware of the limitations, but the strenghts just KILL me! And old deep-groove Blue Note and this rig were MADE for each other!
Yes it would be hard to go back to the linn colourations, my td121 stole my heart too. There is fundamentaly several things wrong with the sound of an LP12 ,which are being now addressed at some outragous price, no thanks. The price of used 124s is sky high but you can still buy 3 with spares for less than a new linn.