Weekly Estate and Garage sale finds (pics)

MVC-002S.JPG
today scored a kenwood kr-790 "high-speed dc" "zero switching" 2-channel receiver for $5.
looks like it's from early 80s. it has settings for international (european) voltages and channel spacing plus is a rather uncommon model, so suspect its one manufactured for military exchange system. also has separate settings for bass, midrange and treble, with adjustable "turnover" for bass & treble, as well as an internal reverb unit. i've been playing with audio for 30 years and have never seen a receiver with this mix of features. a quick search of site archives turned up a couple other similarly perplexed owners. will connect a second set of speakers and "stress it" when i won't run the risk of waking up the neighbors.
edit: so today i've blasted everything from mozart to the cult to talk radio on 4 speakers. it's a heck of an amp. @130 wpc and superior grade components (info from another ak user) it even makes mediocre speakers sound better.

Last edited:
MVC-004S.JPG
not really stereo, but... liberated this homebuilt gamer computer from divorce sale a few miles from home. after replacing the cmos battery and resetting bios, found it has a nice 64-bit, dual-core processor and higher-end 3d video card. mobo has high performance cooling features and supports 4 disk RAID. not a bad score for $5.

Last edited:
Huge vinyl haul for me today I had at an estate sale. Best one I've had in a long time. $10 for the lot, and all are in excellent to near mint condition! I absolutely love the Ray Charles and the CCR, only ones I've gotten a chance to spin so far. Janis Joplin is Up Next. :banana:

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    83.2 KB · Views: 173
Last edited: