Uncle Paul's B-2 Rehab

Well, I hope to be as good a student - so far just a white belt, and it's kind of dingy at that...

How is everybody cleaning their chassis? Seems like every B-2 thread is full of as new looking hardware.

Yeah, remember, I have never overhauled an amp before, let alone a B-2 :p

I have no experience with a dirty chassis, as mine was completely clean. Some small dust particles were removed with compressed air and the transformers were made dust free with a damp cloth.

this is not with a cleaner , this is chemical bath and after re-galvanized .
It is brand new

So why do you say "now the cleaned one" then ?

When posting your results, why do you always show off but give no information/methods etc?

And BTW, this is somebody's else thread about his B-2 project, in which you again put massive results of yourself.
Why don't you start your own threads instead?
Hijacking is the word.

Last edited:
You guys are too irritable.

Everyone go have a good Trappist and come back. I will too, just for kicks. :D

Last edited:
If yo
Beeeuuuutifuuuulllll....

Hmmmmmm......

If I can't shine mine up I might give this a try:

After dipping in muriatic acid to remove the old finish.
If you have access to an ultrasonic cleaner that is large enough, you might not need to mess with acids

If yo

If you have access to an ultrasonic cleaner that is large enough, you might not need to mess with acids

I don't have access to a cleaner that large. If I go that route I can get an inexpensive Sterilite box at home depot that has a 2" clearance, then line with 6 mil polyethylene sheeting - I have some tacky glue that can hold it to the sides, but will also let me pull it away when needed. Then change out each sheet as I move through each step - remove plating, neutralize the acid and dispose, plate with Zinc using a car battery hooked up to a charger for the current, dispose of salt bath, swap liners again and dip in chromate solution then air dry.