Pioneer SX-980 - Diagnosis

cecilk

Hi all,

I'm new to the Pioneer group - but just scored a Pioneer SX-980 (and a pair of HPM-100 speakers) for the friendly Iowa price of $100 (long story). Guy had 'em in his garage to listen to the radio and never played them too loud out of concern for his neighbors.

He said the SX-980 "quit working" a little while ago - but sometimes he could get it to work when he "jiggled the mute switch". Hoping this may just be a short in the switch that a good cleaning might fix.

I've always wanted a Pioneer system, so I really want to bring this thing back and have it live for another 50 years! Two years ago I successfully rebuilt/recapped a non-working Sansui QR-4500 and have done a lot of work on comparatively simple tube equipment. I have a decent workshop with variac, oscilloscope, signal tracer, and Heathkit IG-18. I think I can handle the SX-980 - especially seeing the knowledge and experience of the experts on this board.

My plan is:
  • Clean out unit of dust/crud
  • Do my homework (read service manual, study schematic, research this forum for past rebuilds, BOM, etc)
  • Attempt to diagnose the issue causing it to only work intermittently (hopefully it's something simple)
  • Recap
  • Replace any transistors known to be noisy or problematic
  • Deoxit pots, clean boards, clean RCA jacks, etc
Any general advice about this model before I start?

Thanks,

SX-980 front.jpg SX-980 side top.JPG SX-980 Inside.JPG SX-980 board.JPG

It should clean up and look really good.
Let us know how the evaluation goes.

First quick test I did while cleaning was to check fuses on the power supply board for continuity.

Two fuses were blown - FU3 and FU4 (pardon my French).

The other fuses were okay.