Kenwood KA-3500 recap

Dingman

Do you know where your towel is?
Subscriber
Hiyas guys~ this is my first time in the Kenwood section.

You fools, you left the door open. :)

I have a KA-3500 that I'll be re-capping. Originally came to me as having right channel not working properly. Owner had identified that bias couldn't be set properly on Rch.

I replaced Qe15,17 and got bias correctly set on both channels.
EDIT: this repair is suspect. I can't explain why bias is OK now. Original transistors test fine on two diff cheapo testers.

Nevertheless, this is a 1977 vintage unit. Since I already had to remove the boards (a little tricky) for the bias issue, now is the time to replace electrolytics. 40 years old is good enough, thank you.
Unit is opened, boards half-way out. I removed both the pins conneting main board to black wires (neutral) of the transformer. This allowed me to get the main (and thus other) boards out for work. The bottom of this unit does not come off, you have to remove all the boards.
Kenwood KA-3500 recap 01.jpg

I'll update as needed! I hope to have this all done in a week or two. Or three.

Welcome to the Kenwood forums. The KA-3500 doesn't get much play here it being pretty much BOTL. Any photos, troubleshooting, or information you provide is greatly welcomed and your trail to blaze.

I like the lazy susan BTW.

Cheers.

I recapped one last year- unfortunately this is the only picture I took. Lots-o-disassembly! The spring clamp was just to hold it somewhat upright. Surprisingly powerful and nice sounding amp - worth the effort.

Actually, I do have a question. The rectifier looks to be fairly robust (and easily replaced), so what's the opinion on upping the final filters from 6800\42 to 10K\50?
I'm thinking this will be just fine and in fact should be a nice upgrade.
Kenwood KA-3500 Filter10k.jpg