Marantz 2238b - worth fixing?

Ryan11

Hello all,
I need some advice from people who know Marantz sound...

I picked up a Marantz 2238b from CL ($225) recently and it has some issues.

Channel 1: Left side seems to have more power output than right side
Channel 2: Left side sounds extremely scratchy through the speaker (jbl e100) and the right side does not play sound at all.

When toggling between the two channels, Channel 1 sometimes cuts out completely.

I know it isn't my speakers because they ran fine on my other receiver.

I have little to no knowledge on how to fix it, but there is a guy about an hour away that I contacted who would fix it for $150. Is it worth putting additional money into or should I cut my losses?

I am really stuck on finding a Pioneer sa8800, so I do not want to sink too much money into this receiver.

Thanks in advance.

Channel 1, 2 - do you mean Speakers 1 and 2? If yes, then:

From what you describe it seems like your Marantz simply needs some cleaning. That would include switches and possibly speaker relay. Cleaning switches is very easy and even an inexperienced person can do it. Relay would be more tricky

It is definitely worth fixing, but $150 is a lot if it's cleaning only. That said, only after cleaning it will be clear whether cleaning remedied all problems, or the receiver still needs repairs.

Clean the speaker selector switches.

Since you're getting different behaviour through A and B speakers, that's probably the problem.

I'm an hour from you. Let me know if you get stuck. I may be able to help a little. I have all the tools and chemicals you may need. Heck, if we can meet I'll take it home and see what I can do, and I don't charge anything.