Lets talk About DACS

Cylontymany

I am presently using my headphone jack on the back of my mac to my vintage receiver but I would like to maybe go the dac route to improve the sound. Are there some good budget dacs $100-300 range?

People seem to really like Schiit. I have no experience with them, but they get great reviews and they have four DACs ranging from $99 to $2299!

Look up the Multi-bit Dacs by Schitt, they found a new way to dac from the delta-sigs chips. also there is a sub forum here called DACS (4 sub forums down from this one) where your question plus more as talked about there on a daily basis. there are several threads on the Schitt dacs there you can read through and if you need more head over to Head-fi and there is a ton more material there, Plus a book by the founder Jason, good read

You could look at the Maverick Audio D2 which would offer you a tube output for 315 shipped with all upgrades. I recently picked one up and its pretty impressive. Especially for 300.

I have a Schiit Modi 2 Uber ($150)and a little NuForce $(179). Both work great for me. If you don't get the "Uber" upgrade with the Modi 2 it's $99, and still sounds great, at least to my ears. I had a little NuForce Udac3 ($99) that worked really well until it was stolen.

I am presently using my headphone jack on the back of my mac to my vintage receiver but I would like to maybe go the dac route to improve the sound. Are there some good budget dacs $100-300 range?

Get one of these. A wery good dac and then so many thing moore. Jack out in the rear

https://www.amazon.com/Behringer-DEQ2496-BEHRINGER-ULTRACURVE-PRO/dp/B000CCN152

I just use my itunes library for my music-The Maverick Audio D2 looks nice! Any thought any more suggestions?

I just use my itunes library for my music-The Maverick Audio D2 looks nice! Any thought any more suggestions?

That Maverick D2 does look great - don't think you can go wrong with that