CLEANING VINYL - The AK compendium of fact, fiction and collective wisdom

Have you ever used glue to clean a record?

• Yes

Votes: 231 19.9%
  • No

Votes: 927 80.1%

• Total voters
Magic Eraser should never touch your records. It is however useful for cleaning your stylus, but that's another thread.

I am not a lp pro but I do have a small collection. I've tried to buy only records that visually have no scratches that i can see. What would be the minimal cleaning i should do before playing?

I've tried all sorts of things over the years except high dollar cleaning machines.

For my goodwill and second-hand finds I always use a Spin-Clean. It's cheap (relative to other cleaners) and after almost 20 years my original unit is still going strong.

The only extra money I've spent is a new set of rollers when the originals broke and a new set of pads a few months ago. Good as new.

I am not a lp pro but I do have a small collection. I've tried to buy only records that visually have no scratches that i can see. What would be the minimal cleaning i should do before playing?

The Spin-Clean get a lot of good press around here. A friend of mine has one and really likes it.

It does. Mostly because it's cheap, simple and easy to use. You can probably get the same results with a microfiber cloth and some DIY cleaning solution for way less than 80 bucks, but it's an elegant solution (engineering-wise) and personally I find the time spent using it very relaxing. When I first bought it I figured I would start with this thing and eventually move on to bigger, better vacuum or cavitation (ultrasonic) machines but so far I haven't felt the need.

I did try the glue method but found it to be cumbersome, take way too long and frankly the diminishing returns vs a good spin in the spin clean not worth it.