To bi-amp or not to bi-amp???

kln138

I have a stack of McIntosh gear (MC2505, C26) powering Altec 604e's through the Altec passive crossover.
I love my set up. However, that opportunity came along and I acquired two MC60 mono blocks in pristine condition. I don't want to break up my 2505 and C26 set. Should I bi-amp?

From the research I've done 60's for the high's, 2505 for the lows. What's the best way to go about this?
No crossover wired direct, through the passive crossover, or through an active cross over? I have no bi-amping experience and I'm seeking your wisdom to get the most out of my system. I guess not wanting to part with any of these components is what is driving me, with an eye toward great sound.
Thank you all! This forum always helps me!
Keith

Many years ago I went through the same thing. Except my speakers are Altec Valencias and not 604's. I bought a used Rane electronic crossover and made my own cables. Figuring it was the least expensive way to try this bi-amp business and see (read hear) what all the fuss was about. So after I had it all working I was impressed enough I've never looked back. Being able to adjust the crossover point on the fly and experiment with fine tuning it has been priceless.

The Rane eventually died so I bought another crossover and life is sweet once more. I too put a tube amp on the horns and SS on the Woofers. I'm sure you are aware of the musicality of Altecs since you own a pair. Now female vocals and guitar, sax and all that are even better. If you have any questions send me a PM and I'll do my best to help you. I'm not a tech and know little about gear. However, I do know what sounds good to me. If you try a Rane or any other inexpensive crossover and decide you like it then you can always pick a Marchand or other audiophile crossover. I'm not convinced that spending a lot for a crossover is necessary unless you want one with a S/N ratio like the Black Hole of Calcutta. :)