CLEANING VINYL - The AK compendium of fact, fiction and collective wisdom

Have you ever used glue to clean a record?

• Yes

Votes: 231 19.9%
  • No

Votes: 927 80.1%

• Total voters
Of the thousand or so records I have, experimenting cleaning them based on other people's choice and my own has been fun and tiresome. Cleaning a crate a used records takes a day. I mean clean and sanitize the record, cover, pages, everything- each one hand by hand. I have asthma and allergies and lived (short lived) in a home in Colorado that was partially damaged by a rare flooding in 1995 or 96. So I'm anal and don't want strangers dust particles/mold/whatever in my home disrupting my ecosystem. I'm a trained chef too.
All in all, here is my kit and recipe to clean records.........

Short version- spray paper towel with sanitizer rinse and wipe jacket/cover in one direction. Use a dry paper towel to remove any solution and gunk. Repeat step as needed. Clean the inside too. Place cover/jacket in sunlight (not the record). The actual record..Spray paper towel then wipe following the groves/edges and label. Solution will evaporate fast. When dry use the Swiffer duster. Now the record should appear glistening. Then place record into new/ clean inner sleeve.

Long version with details. Please read.
Tools:
1. Spray bottle with Solution.
I use a 32 ounce spray bottle filled with 31oz. distilled water with 1/2oz. concentrated "First Street " brand Sanitizer Rinse (Alkyl dimethyl benzyl ammonium chloride- 5.0% and Alkyl dimethyl ethylbenzyl ammonium -5.0% and inert ingredients-90.0%) [disinfectant-sanitizer, fungicide-virucide].
2. Target store brand paper towels.
They are cloth like. Soft and minimal paper towel dust.
3. Swiffer brand dusters.
4. Oreck brand hand held vacuum. As needed.
5. Wood glue type 2. As needed.
6. Sunlight. As needed.
7. Portable beach/camping chair. As needed.
8. Disposable gloves. Mandatory. Best to use non-powder style.