Recently Restored SA-9900 working great now blowing fuses

Fhamre

I recently did a restoration on a low miler SA-9900. Full recap,including ps caps. Removed all the known failure prone transistors. I ran and tested the unit for many hours. Sold it to a fellow across the country and he reported back how happy he is. The next day he reports that after he hooked up a Project tt pre amp through the AUX terminals and did some tone adjustments. It blew a fuse.
Apparently it keeps blowing fuses now.Any thoughts?I have never used a tt pre amp through AUX before.

It blows fuses. We have two "it's" here. I could assume you mean the SA-9900 is popping the fuse .

The "Project tt pre amp" - that's the turntable with it's own preamp? With a line level output?

Remember what I said in '14 about trimpots in that SA-9900? I hope you put in new idle current trimpots in this one?

Yes its the 9900 blowing the fuse. It was working fine until the tt with the phono amp built in was hooked up.I didn't replace the trim pots as they were easy to adjust. I didn't come across your recommendation on those when I did my research. But I will look for that post,now.

That's terribly unfortunate. I saw your listing and it looks like it's an excellent example of an SA-9900.

If it was the main 8A fuse that went, I wouldn't have thought that connecting to an AUX port could cause it to blow. Perhaps something like an errant component lead clipping came loose during shipping and settled in a bad location. You may have to get it shipped back to you and then throw it on a DBT to determine what parts were damaged. Hopefully, your buyer has stopped replacing fuses.

When I did my 9900, I replaced all 8 trimmers including the idle adjustment trimpots that Mark mentioned. The trimmers in the main regulated power supply were totally shot from heat.

Good luck.

Les.