Sansui 8010 (771) Blowing fuses, no sound

Allboats

Hello, I just purchased an 8010 in non working condition. The panel lights work, the tuning meter swings, and the relay clicks. No speaker or headphone sound.

I'm a noob, so this is my first unit I've attempted to repair, and all I want right now is to get it working. Recapping and other exotics (for me) will be later.

I opened it up, and fuses F01, F02, F04 were blown. F03 is O.K. I replaced the three bad ones, powered it up, and they blew again. SM troubleshooting points to TR 1,2,3,4 on F-1500 power board, or six transistors on F-1499, driver board. Could I unplug and set aside 1499 (one edge connector), replace fuses, and attempt to verify power board is ok by powering it up?

I also own another 771 which works. Maybe swap F-1499 from that, if F-1500 comes up alright?

From the forum, it looks like common driver board problems could be those six transistors, or 4 diodes? I do want to fix this unit, and have my 771 work also.

Those fuses supply rail voltage to the driver board. If they are blowing, you have real trouble. Start by checking your output transistors. It's likely at least one in each channel is blown. This would also be a good time to make a dim bulb tester. Don't power it up again without one.

When you have a chance, please post the serial number for the database. Click on the link in my signature block.

- Pete

Those fuses supply rail voltage to the driver board. If they are blowing, you have real trouble. Start by checking your output transistors. It's likely at least one in each channel is blown. This would also be a good time to make a dim bulb tester. Don't power it up again without one.

When you have a chance, please post the serial number for the database. Click on the link in my signature block.

- Pete
Thank You Pete, It was that 3 of 4 outputs were fried, so I just replaced them all. Is there anything "downstream" that will kill these, or should I be good to go on the DBT?

-Ted