Getting into mountain biking - picking up a mongoose tomorrow:)

jami w.

just being me thats all
Screenshot_20170614-222412.png Anyone here into it? Hoping so, for i have a few questions. Im a newbie to full suspension bikes. All ive ridden were bmx
Bikes.

The rear shock doesnt go sideways like all the others ive seen, the rear shock on mine? Is mounted straight up an down, (like on a car or truck)
Im just curious on which is better for riding on the trails an street, an bike trails
That are paved.

Could someone explain pros an cons, on the different rear suspension setups,

The bike im picking up is a 24" yes im short :) but at 40.00 out of pocket. Worth it to me. Out there riding, burning calories an loosing more weight !! A good thing in my eyes

Just a google image of the rear suspension, for reference (click on the pic)

Last edited:
Hi jami! Congrats on getting a bike! Not sure what you want to do with it, but don't expect to do much. This is essentially one of those dreaded Wal-Mart bikes. It should be fine on the streets, gravel, paved trails - that sort of thing. But I wouldn't go jumping off cliffs or expecting it to do stunts your bmxes could do. The drivetrain - you will find - will suffer from ghost shifting, bad bearings and the wheels are likely not to be silky smooth over the long haul.

I don't see any rear lock-out and though adjustable, it's not going to soak up the bumps as a better rear suspension will. Also, that front fork is likely just spring-loaded. Again, it works, but it will wear quickly, depending on how you abuse it. There's also likely no adjustment on its stiffness, so what you get it what you get.