Fisher 500B - Listening With Headphones

4everanalog

Hi all,
If I were to use the item shown in the listing below ...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AIQIN-headp...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649
to listen to my 500B through headphones,
would I be able to leave it hooked up to the speaker outputs with the speakers or would it show up as a 4ohm load to the amplifier?
(my apologies if some of the language is incorrect - I'm still learning)
Long story short - I don't (obviously) want to do anything that would damage the unit.

The answer is unclear, as it doesn't state precisely what it does. But in looking at it, it appears that the device is merely a tap into the speaker lines. That is, it apparently does not control the speakers (as in being able to turn them on and off), so they would be connected all the time. If that is so, then there is no need for any internal load resistors to take the place of the speakers, since they would always be connected -- therefore, the thought that this unit is merely a "tap". As a tap then, the load it would present to your 500B is no different than if the speakers were connected directly to it without this device. All that said however, the connections on the back are a bit strange -- either it is a mono unit (it never states that it is a stereo device), or it is only handling the hot side of each channel -- i.e., two hots in, two hots out. Even this would be strange as then there would be no ground reference for the phones to operate from. It appears then to be a mono device. I'd want questions answered by the manufacturer before making a purchase.

I hope this helps!

Dave

I would pass on this thing. It looks a bit sketchy.

If you are handy, you could build your own and emulate the headphone circuit used on the 400. IIRC that unit uses 25 ohm 5 watt resistors in parallel to the headphone outputs to protect the transformers when the speakers are shut off manually by the slide switch.