MX110 Right Channel Out

DrRobocop

Hello all,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I'm seeking some guidance regarding my MX110's non functioning right channel. Thanks to all helpful contributors and wonderful info on this site, I took it upon myself to repair my newly acquired MX110 after a local tech made a real mess of repairing the power supply.

I am a complete amateur, but, with the collective wisdom of this site's contributors, I have been successful in re-caping the unit, and replacing the power supply on this MX110 as well as 2 other MC240s.
The unit was functioning well after my initial repair, but I couldn't leave well enough alone. I recently swapped the 1uf capacitors and surrounding resistors at the front of the unit (the ones related to the tone control's I believe). Since then the right channel has stopped producing sound.

Things I have tried:
  • I went back and have cleaned up and re-soldered all the connections
  • tried different caps and resistors
  • cleaned all the switches with deoxit
  • used various settings on the mode selector
  • swapped the 6u8 tubes.
  • The problem also occurs when I use the tape monitor outputs.
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help!

A signal tracer would help you very quickly determine where the problem lies. They're not too difficult to build ...

A signal tracer would help you very quickly determine where the problem lies. They're not too difficult to build ...

Thanks for your reply! I'll look around online to see about building and using a signal tracer. Would you recommend any first steps I could take with my multimeter?

I'm hoping the problem is an easy fix (a wire without enough solder, wrong connection, etc..). Once troubleshooting goes beyond the more obvious stuff, I'm a bit lost.
A little bit of knowledge can really get you in trouble...I've had success so far, but I hope I didn't wade in too deep and mess something up that I am completely unaware of.