power transformer questions

gonebytim

Hi,

I'm by no means an electronics expert, but I have managed to do a fair bit of fixing work on my own equipment in the past, however , i'm not experienced with power transformers.

I just stumbled across a Pioneer A-5 amplifier which is completely dead (wont power on).

I put my multimeter on the secondary side of the power transformer and measured the voltage between the positive red leads and the black ground lead. It is showing absolutely no voltage. Am I testing it correctly? and does this confirm that the transformer is dead?

also - I noticed that there is continuity between the positive and negative leads of the transformer (tested on the secondary side) - is this normal, or also indicating a dead transformer?

The transformer will be putting out AC voltage. Better to measure between the 2 red wires, pins 9 and 10.

Suggest check the primary by power off/unpluging the unit then measure the resistance between the grey and white wires (pins 3 & 7
on the fuse assembly). There looks to be a thermal fuse in the transformer. Expect a few ohms if all ok. An open circuit reading would
be a bad sign. Should also check for continuity on the secondary by measuring the resistance between the 2 red wire, pins 9-10. Again expect
near short. Open circuit is bad.

The transformer will be putting out AC voltage. Better to measure between the 2 red wires, pins 9 and 10.

Suggest check the primary by power off/unpluging the unit then measure the resistance between the grey and white wires (pins 3 & 7
on the fuse assembly). There looks to be a thermal fuse in the transformer. Expect a few ohms if all ok. An open circuit reading would
be a bad sign. Should also check for continuity on the secondary by measuring the resistance between the 2 red wire, pins 9-10. Again expect
near short. Open circuit is bad.

Hi, thanks for the advice!
I performed these checks.

The resistance checks seems ok, a few ohms and nearly short.