Need Help: Luxman M-02 Bias Setting

Kecap Manis

Hi All. I need help in bias setting for Luxman M-02. Unit is running but Left channel is rather hot while Right channel is only slightly warm with no input signal.

I'm a bit confused by the adjustment procedure described in Service Manual. There is a set of test pin as seen in PCB layout, left and right hand side of PCB, halfway up, consists of 3 test pin for Bias, Offset, and Earth. I trace the Offset pin to a point between R142 and R143, as confirmed by shematic. Also Bias pin to between R142 and Q122 emitter leg.

I took a reading with DMM, on Left channel, Bias pin to Earth is -33mV and Offset pin to Earth is -15mV. The Service Manual advise to set the bias voltage to approx 5mV.

For Right channel, bias pin to earth is -15mV and offset pin to earth is -8mV.

Could someone please explain this to me. Thanks.

I tried to attach the service manual but unfortunately the size is over allowable 1MB.

Hi - I'm not a Luxman expert, and I'm not sure if you're using the same manual (?), but I checked on the SM at hifiengine.com - following are the relevant parts:

Lux M2 Adjust.PNG

Lux M2 Adjust Schematic.PNG

https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/luxman/m-02.shtml

The adjustment procedures in the Hifiengine service manual don't actually refer to the test pins - but for DC-Offset, the measurements you've taken seem to be correct from the schematic (L = -15mV, R = -8mV). Both are fine, and well within the 0V +/- 50mV spec.

Your Bias measurements however are not correct - the voltage needed to determine bias is the voltage drop 'across' either R143a (L channel) or R143b (R channel), not the voltage from the bias test pins to earth. In this case, because R142a is essentially the same as R143a in terms of bias measurement, you should be able to just use the voltage difference between the bias test pin, and the dc-offset pin (= the voltage across R142a). The R channel would obviously be analogous.