Differences in volume

MikeFrank

I am pretty new to the amp/receiver/speakers community, and I have a question I hope doesn't embarrass me too much.

I have 2 receivers right now. One is a Pioneer SX-650. The other is a Marantz 2230. I don't need to play them both super loud, but when I do turn up the volume, I notice the Pioneer can go much louder much more quickly. For example, turning the volume on the Pioneer to about 25% on the volume knob, is about as loud as putting the Marantz to about 50% on its volume knob. For testing purposes I have played both receivers through a pair of Klipsch SF2 speakers.

I don't know enough about watts and power and their impact on volume. Could one of you good people explain this simply? I am trying to determine if this is an expected result from these 2 receivers, or if the Marantz has some sort of problem that might be affecting the volume.

Different volume pot designs can have different amounts of output power at the same position. Since these receivers are close in output power I'd think that is the case here but it would be good if somebody with actual experience with both receivers would post and verify or refute this.

For what I understand a volume pot is a resistor. As stated above they can be created with different values.

Also the source impedance(resistance) will have an impact in the "resistance chain".

Last edited:
I have a bunch of different vintage receivers, all between 20 and 75 watts and each one is different on how much gain the volume pot uses. My Marantz 2220B usually needs no more than about to the 10 oclock position to get loud. My Sony STR 5800SD has a lot more power at around 55 watts but to get to the same SPL as the Marantz it needs to go to the 12 position.