Marantz 250 power amp, smoked!

grnhays

Turned on the stereo, only to notice smoke pouring out of my amp. I unplugged it to survey the damage, this is what I found, smh.

Over the weekend, I took the top off to address the burnt out lights, for the meters. I took the bulbs out, and headed to the store, for replacements. Needless to say, the store did not carry them. I had to source them on line. I kept the bulbs out, not thinking there would be a problem, until the replacements arrived. Boy was I mistaken!

Now,.... I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron. Replacing the wires for the lights, should be an easy fix. The other wires run to the back of the amp. Those shouldn't be too tough to replace, either. IMG_0829.JPG IMG_0827.JPG

Now for the big question. Should I try to just fix my burnt wires, should I try a full recap and service bulletin upgrade, or should I try and find a fellow AK Member to rebuild the amp? I am by no means an electrical engineer. But I enjoy tinkering with things. This, is just a really expensive amp to try my tinkering skills on. Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated.

They are really finicky with properly matching the predriver, drivers and outputs as indicated by the Marantz service bulletins.
The drivers are the hard to obtain TO66 type but can be found as I prefer to use them rather than to modify them to TO220's.
Hopefully no traces on the boards are damaged ,only wiring.
A full recap wouldn't hurt while in there.
Most of them are axials and the Vishay AML's work well .
Also the small transistors are MPS type and are available still from Mouser or DigiKey.

Bob

Thanks for the tips. It sounds like you've done this a time or two.

I just got the amp. the gentleman I got the amp from said it was just serviced. I got the receipts, and a bag full of the parts. Not sure what they are? But, I'm gonna find out. Please excuse my ignorance. We all have to start somewhere.