Sansui 5050 Restoration /w 2700 PCB

Sagacious

Hello all,

I'm going to begin my first vintage audio restoration on my Sansui 5050. As mentioned in the title it is of the 2700/2701 rectifier/power supply variety. I am by no means an expert but I have done a lot of reading on posts from others about what to change out and what to change it out with. This started with me just wanting to replace the capacitors but then I learned of the dreaded fuse resistors so I'll be replacing those too.

I've found a replacement capacitor list from another thread on this forum but the post is old and some of the caps are obsolete and I'd like to keep all the "audio" caps of the same brand and series. So, I'd like to ask if anyone can chime in on what highly quality audio caps people are using. here's the thread where i got the capacitor list: http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/sansui-5050-recapping-successful.252048/

also, the problem with this thread is that he has the more common F-2648 board and not the F-2700 so I'm sure my capacitor list would be different from his. Does anyone have a list of capacitor values and fuse resistors values for the F-2700 & F-2701 boards? My 5050 service manual only references the version with the F-2648 board.

Ideally, I'd like us all to come up with a complete replacement parts list with modern day part numbers. I know that's not likely to happen though. Anyway, this will be ongoing for me in between work and kids. Hopefully some folks can fill in the gaps of info for me and I'll post my progress and part numbers along the way...

Sansui made a lot of production changes on this model. It's best to make your own list looking at the values on each cap. Take pictures and draw a diagram of each board outlining the location and polarity of each cap. Nichicon has several lines of "audio grade" caps. Look for those as weil as low esr long life caps. I use mostly KT and PW series.

Nichicon Caps