Bunch of adding subwoofer questions

Messy Jesse

Hi Folks,

Thinking about adding a powered sub to my system (2 channel receiver, no pre in/outs) to help my bookshelves with the low end. I have zero experience with subs but love projects. I want to build one of the DIY kits from Parts Express, should be fun. Ideally I'd like the thing to blend seamlessly with my system and not be adjusting knobs every time I change volume or music genre. I THINK that means I want to use speaker level inputs on the sub. So that's the first question. Does using speaker level input on the sub truly adjust the level based on the receiver's volume (in a linear/proportional way) so that I can set and forget?

Next question: I have no idea if I'll want to run my bookshelves full range or if I want to use some sort of crossover/low pass deal. I think I want the option to try that to see if I prefer it either way. Some subs have HF out, but none that I've seen above 300watts or so. I also don't love the idea of running my speaker cables all the way to the sub, then all the way back to the speakers. I know I could wire in some capacitors to my mains to take out the lows, but I think some adjustability or the option to turn full range on or off would be nice. I guess I could build a little custom box with knobs and switches. Could be fun. Anybody have a clean and not too expensive solution to this one?

Last one: Does using the high level input on the sub truly not add any (relevant) load to the receiver?

Thanks!