1961 Fisher President VI Restoration

Dang, that's a real statement piece, to be treasured.

Are you sure it's from '61? I thought the script font for "stereophonic" was only used in '59 and '60.
I’m far from a Fisher expert, but this version is in the 1961 catalog.

Stereophonic script was used on various models up until the 1962 500B/800B receivers, and the various Tuners that had built in Multiplexers.

Zarek -- If I may, could you answer some specific questions regarding the 400CX preamp in your President please? That specific model preamp is quite rare, being a transitional piece to get from the long running 400C before it, to the long running 400CX-2 after it. There is no known service manual that has ever surfaced that covers your specific preamp unit. It is often just thought of as a early 400CX-2, but there are significant differences between the 400CX, and a 400CX-2, starting with the tubes used (yours uses 12AT7s while a 400CX-2 uses 7247 tubes), as well as other features, and so the questions:

1. Was your console lucky enough to come with a Service Manual? If so, I'd love to get a copy of it either directly, or by getting it uploaded to the AK Database.

2. On your Stereo Dimension Control -- does it merely blend the stereo signal into a mono signal, or does it have the ability to actually expand the stereo beyond the recorded sound stage like the CX-2 version does?

3. Also on your Stereo Dimension Control -- does it have a switch on it that controls the center red jewel?

4. And finally, does the red jewel go dark when its feature is not activated? Or does it go dim to act as a power indicator when its feature is not activated?