Fisher 500 mono no sound?

biminyrd

I found a fisher 500 mono stereo receiver on the sidewalk a few years ago (yes!)
I didn't really know what I found until I plugged it in and connected my speakers. My boston's never sounded so good.
I got an initial cloud of burnt dust and then everything was great. After about 20 - 30 hours of playing all of the sudden the sound went out. There was not sound or anything.
it seems like all of the tubes light up, but I don't know where to start trouble shooting or what to test or how.

I own vintage scooters and the electrics can be complicated and a bit messed up once the farmer gets a hold of them, so I'm not a newbie to wiring and soldering, or tracing connections, I just don't know circuit boards or tubes or stereos.

Any help is appreciated.

It's likely a burnt resistor in the power supply section, but before you go tearing into it to take a look, realize that a unit like this produces at least 400 vdc when operating, so unless you're familiar with HV safety practices, then familiarizing yourself with them is the very first order of business before you do anything else. Next, a good underside shot will help to provide some basic clues. Finally, realize that a unit of this age should have some basic restoration work due to it, not only to promote long term dependability, but also to ensure that damage to irreplaceable components isn't done by components that are replaceable. Beyond this, you'll find plenty of folks here willing to help you get the most out of it.

I need to know where you walk!!

Dave

Thank Dave!

do you have a link to the HV Safety Procedures? or can you point me in the right direction?
I'll post an underside shot later when I get home and a chance to take the cabinet apart.
What other restoration work should be done? What is replaceable and what is not?
I've looked around and haven't found any more information on what to do or where to start. thanks!