Yamaha A-1000 Repair and Info Thread

Well, here are hte measurement for all the voltages. I have them paired up as they are in the schmatic, but I tested each line anyway since I was at it:

AC coming out of the secondaries:

RE= 47.6V
BL= 0v (reference)
BE= 28.2

DC Rail Voltages (with ac present as noted):

HB+ 57.9Vdc and 128.2Vac
HB- 57.9Vdc
LB+ 34.3Vdc and 75Vac
LB- 34.5Vdc

DSC -30.2Vdc

LX/LP+ 33.8Vdc and 74.3Vac
LX/LP- 33.8Vdc
RX/RP+ 49.7Vdc and 109.6Vac
RX/RP- 33.9Vdc

Now, I am not an expert by any means, but I don't think that is normal. I found it odd that D162 was spewing 128Vac straight out of the positive dc terminal..

Last edited:
Maybe @avionic or @Hamish119 can weigh in. I assume that both of the bridge rectifiers are shot? if so, can anyone suggest suitable replacements? Would I need to go ahead and replace those big diodes as well?
Are the big caps fried now?

I am on a limited budget as usual but shipping kills me more than anything else so a single mouser order would be the best option if possible.

AC coming out of the secondaries:

RE= 47.6V (x 2)
BL= 0v (reference)
BE= 28.2 (x 2)

DC Rail Voltages (with ac present as noted):

HB+ 57.9Vdc and 128.2Vac
HB- 57.9Vdc
LB+ 34.3Vdc and 75Vac
LB- 34.5Vdc

DSC -30.2Vdc

LX/LP+ 33.8Vdc and 74.3Vac
LX/LP- 33.8Vdc
RX/RP+ 49.7Vdc and 109.6Vac
RX/RP- 33.9Vdc

Now, I am not an expert by any means, but I don't think that is normal. I found it odd that D162 was spewing 128Vac straight out of the positive dc terminal..
Thanks for the 'interesting' (and confusing) voltage measurements. :confused:
Here's why they're confusing;

The maximum AC voltage from the secondary winding on the transformer is <100V (RE - RE). That suggests the 128V AC must be coming from an external source (nothing but the bulb limiter should be connected to the amplifier).
Or it's a 'ghost' reading. :eek: