Boomboxes and Ghettoblasters

I got really lucky with mine.I found it at the register of a thrift store.A woman had left it there because there was no sound.Turns out the speaker wires werent connected on the back.

Thatsca national. Im not sure how clear the pictures cone up but its got national right on the front. National rx-c300.

I like boomboxes, tho I'm no expert on the models, I remember their rise and fall.
Even tho everyone lives good home, car and new bluetooth mini speaker stereos, there's nothing like a heftier piece of gear.
I consider them vintage beach and yard hi-fi that is durable, nice and full sounding (to a limit)
I have a small early 80's Panasonic cassette at work thats near bulletproof and a Fisher mini rig with detachable speakers.
I found both at thrifts over the last few years for just a few bucks and a little tune up at home.
Key is that they have Aux inputs for new, packed digital sources, and they can make ok recordings on tape. Nothing like a Minidisc tho.
I put some speaker insulation and clay in the speakers to give a little more "knuckle-test thud" to the sound and was happy to see a genuine 2 way speaker inside.
Some sort of crude metal plate ribbon tweeter setup.
This one I modded for over the shoulder carrying around on the bike
in the memory of the legendary Radio Raheem, boomboxes that sound good are alright by me.
fisher boombox.jpg

I have one I saved it from the recycler, a Panasonic RX-5100 , It's in like new condition without a scratch on it.
Panasonic_RX-5100.jpg

My Grandfher had this one for his garden and yard work way back when.
It's what made me realize portables were alot better than the old AM radios.

I have a Marantz PMS-3500, minus the speakers which I foolishly threw away. It has been doing bookend duty for many years.