Sansui 9090 Driver Board r

IndyAudio

I just picked up a clean 9090 from the original owner that was in protection mode. VU meters were only lights coming on. After checking the Sansui Forum FAQ, in 5 minutes, I was able to get my tuner dial and both tuner signal lights on by changing the red wire location. The posts also helped me diagnose the root cause of protection mode is from the driver board - removed it and flashing red changes to green light, out of protection!
I got excited when I saw the fix for the 9090 DB board only involved changing the two outboard resistors, but this is not the case with the 9090 as there are many resistors here. I checked a few and they were out of spec or not providing even readings comparing left to right channel.

I'm an amateur and don't want to F up my board, it's the later one with the fuses F2436-1. I can send pics.

Does anyone here on the site work on the boards if I carefully packed it and mailed it to you? Thanks guys!

I’m pretty sure the driver boards for 9090 and 9090db are the same, and the fusible resistors on that board are normally the issue. It does appear the problem is with the driver board, since removing it takes the unit out of protection.
Take a picture of the board and post it.

I’m pretty sure the driver boards for 9090 and 9090db are the same, and the fusible resistors on that board are normally the issue. It does appear the problem is with the driver board, since removing it takes the unit out of protection.
Take a picture of the board and post it.

Thanks, the FAQ here indicates the boards are very different. The DB has a couple of outboard fusible resistors that once replaced do the trick. Not so for the non DB model.

Uploaded the board F 2436-1 with the fuses, believe these are the later version.

I’ve never had a 9090, only a 9090db and 990db. Have you seen this thread? It may have all you need to get your 9090 operational.