Open Baffle Epiphany!

Wire them out of phase, place them close together facing each other, throw a blanket over them and feed them FM. I usually start with low volume for the first day then add a bit of volume every day till they are broken in.

Wire them out of phase, place them close together facing each other, throw a blanket over them and feed them FM. I usually start with low volume for the first day then add a bit of volume

Interesting, you learn something new here on AK all the time. Thanks

I’m trying out my Dayton PS220-8, I know eventually the harshness on the high end will eventually subside. My question is, ‘how many hours of use will it have to be until it settle down to its optimum performance?’ Currently I have on a makeshift open baffle until it’s final home is completed. Thanks

It'll never completely subside (at least, it hasn't in the pair I've been running in the home theatre every day for a few years now), you'll probably find a notch filter will be required.

Roscoe

How is it with the notch filter?

Everything is a compromise;) A bit less in-your-face sound from the upper midrange peak, but a bit less lively as a result. Try it both ways, and decide which one YOU like better in YOUR system, that's all that really matters...

Roscoe

Everything is a compromise;) A bit less in-your-face sound from the upper midrange peak, but a bit less lively as a result. Try it both ways, and decide which one YOU like better in YOUR system, that's all that really matters...

Thanks Roscoe, will give it time and see what happens and decide on the notch filter down the line.

I am looking at at purchasing a Behringer 2310 active crossover and will only use it for the alpha. Can anyone advise me on the cable needed, I know I will need a xlr to rca. Just want to make sure which exactly before pulling the trigger. Thanks