So, when did they stop putting spare tires in cars?

Buy a Dodge Challenger. You can get 6 tire/wheel sets. 4 wide street tires and 2 narrow tires for the front when you go to the strip!

I work in sales yes, but not automotive sales.

Perhaps the idea doesn’t seem so foreign to me because I like B-segment cars. In a lot of them the question becomes “where are you gonna put a spare?” Then when you look at the optional spare, it takes up cargo space, and in my cars case it cost over $400. To reiterate, $400 for a spare tire is what four years of Triple A roadside assistance insurance costs. With tows being pricey I’d be buying the Triple A anyway.

Again though, I researched all this in the process of shopping. I car shopped for a year and a half before finally making the purchase.

This whole “cars have always come with them” argument just doesn’t float with me if somebody knows exactly what they’re buying. Who spends thousands of dollars without knowing exactly what they’re buying?

When it comes to a watch, amplifier or someone spending thousands of dollars will generally know exactly what they are buying.

When you're talking about cars, which are not luxury, status or recreational items (I'm talking about regular cars not exotics or sports or whatever might be considered an "enthusiast" car), many people walk onto a dealer with certain assumptions. Most people don't do ANY research at all. They just want a good car to take them to work and not break down.

. Most people don't do ANY research at all. They just want a good car to take them to work and not break down.

My dear wife is looking for a car and her method is mostly to go to used car lots and walk around looking at them. I just bought one myself and it required a lot of reading and watching online video reviews from Motor Week. I don't see how you can really know anything without some research.