Sub on a budget - Craigslist used (Sunfire or ML Abyss) or SVS SB-1000?

smhaden

Hi All,

After dealing with some less-than-optimal low end on my current system, I'm looking to add an affordable sub (<$500). I see great things in regards to the SVS SB-1000. But there are two local options on CL that have me wondering if I couldn't get the same result at less cost.

Wondering if anyone has experience with either the Sunfire SDS-8 or Martin Logan Abyss? I can get the Sunfire for $200 (maybe less) or the ML for $380.

I have a Technics SL-1400/Parks Audio Budgie/Onkyo TX-8050/Monitor Audio Bronze 5s. I'm totally new to setting up a subwoofer, but the Onkyo appears to have a sub out as well as a L/R preout. I don't think either the Sunfire nor the ML have sub in, just L/R.

The other factor is that I have to conceal the sub due to space issues. It will have to be located in a corner, behind a TV stand but with ample space around it. Both the Sunfire and ML are downfiring, which helps with this, yes? Because of the placement, do I need to avoid a front firing sub altogether?

As you can tell, I'm a complete noob with subs (and audio in general). All I know is I love good music and good sound to go with it. Thanks for your insight!

For reference, the room dimensions are 17' x 13'. A living room - carpeted, furniture, etc. And while the 2ch system also provides audio for a television, I'm looking for a sub that is suited for music as opposed to explosions and aliens.

Then I think you want the Martin Logan. The other two are specialized for HT LFE duty.

Also, if you can, and the decor and SWMBO allows it, get some bass traps for the corners. You will be amazed.

http://arqen.com/bass-traps-101/placement-guide/

A tutorial. Pretty broad but a lot of interesting information.