Marantz IF Test Points

Todd D

I've Googled this topic pretty thoroughly without any luck. Reading associated schematics and "The Theory and Servicing of AM, FM , and FM Stereo Receivers" has led me to believe I'm on the right track, but would like to confirm this with anyone else who has tried. Currently I'm checking out the alignment on a Marantz 4300 which is very similar to a 2325. I've narrowed it down to testing a point between R277, and diode H220, while lifting a leg on C242. As I'm relatively new to FM alignments, and using a newly acquired ST100A, I'm not entirely sure.

The Marantz FM alignment instructions are pretty poor, and I'd like to do it visually with a scope if possible. I've had luck with my distortion analyzer and using the parts of their instructions that are passable, but I'd like to continue to improve at this stuff.

Any help is appreciated! I'd like the answers for myself, but also to get it out there for anyone else trying to get into this stuff.

Are you trying to improve on step 8 of the FM alignment procedure?

In your other post you mentioned that you were looking for a good place to test the IF.

Depends on which instructions you look at. I believe it's step 5 in the 4300 manual (though I own 5+ Marantz tuners/receivers and they all have the same poor instructions). Tuning the IF coils and transformer. In reading the book mentioned in the first post, I was able to pick out the point listed above as an appropriate spot to test. However ST100A I acquired is new to me, and it takes some fiddling to get the right waveforms to show up on my scope. More than anything I'd like to find out what test points have worked for other people so I can use the same ones, and tweak my test equipment until it appears. At that point I can work on fine tuning alignments. Again, I've had some success using the Marantz instructions, but would like to do better.

Thanks for any help!