DLNA troubles

interalian

Hi gang, I'm having 'fun' with my new rig. I have a TerraMaster 3TB NAS running in RAID1 hooked into my home network. Player is a Yamaha NP-S2000. Control using iPhone with the Yammy app. I have about 2.3TB of lossless audio on the NAS

Troubles? I frequently lose connection with the app and it says 'no music'. The player may or may not still show audio/server as available. In order to get control again, I have to re-boot various equipment until it'll see the music again.

Thoughts?

Wifi sucks. Hardwire everything you can to network for reliability. Use IR control of tune plucker rather than mobile app pulling tunes via wifi and trying to maintain continuous feed to audio.

Thanks. The only thing that isn't hardwired is the iPhone though. Previous to the NAS I was using my MacBook and Serviio to serve my iTunes to the Yammy. Similar results though. Care to elaborate on better ways to control than the app?

Yes, I run Ethernet cables between everything on my audio, including the NAS and my raspberry pi3 and I simply never get any sort of dropout at all. I know we are supposed to be a cableless world by now but it still ain't quite so.

For example, I use IR remotes to tell my (hardwired) AppleTVs what to "pull and play" from the iTunes library on the PC music server (also hardwired). Solid as a rock. If I ever get a skip (and I do very occasionally), I know it's due to a ripping error, so I make a note and re-rip the song when I get around to it. I haven't yet served music directly from my NAS, though it does have that capability (the RAID 5 NAS currently serves as primary backup for my iTunes libraries as well as a Family Cloud hosting all our documents). If and when I do hit the NAS for music, I would look for a similar control/data transfer mode as with the ATVs and iTunes libraries.