New house build

fish mojo

I’m in the process of helping design and building my new house. The plan is a great room 20’ x 20’ with high vaulted ceiling. Kitchen area open to the great room which extends the listening space out another 12’. Stereo will be set on custom built in cabinets on the far side of the great room with the cabinets on either side of a centered fireplace. Floors will be hardwood.
Stereo will be what is in my signature. Need a bit extra depth for the big G. Want to elevate the speakers off the floor a bit- thinking 12 to 18” or so and build into the cabinets (is this a bad idea if the resonance of the speaker vibrates the casework?).
Looking for ideas and thoughts to put into the design before it is built. Any similar pictures would be nice to show my architect. Thanks.

Attachments

• hose great room.pdf
    44.1 KB · Views: 73
IME (and I am a contractor that builds and remodels homes/offices--amongst other things), built-in custom audio racks/cabinets are not a great idea. If you do decide to go that route, make sure you design something "modular"--that can be altered easily without tearing out a whole wall of cabinets--this gets really expensive, really fast. There are always ventilation and/or vibration issues that arise, and (inevitably) there will come a time when you want to make changes--and new "toys" may not fit or look good. Having the speakers in the cabinet is not a great idea due to resonance transfer to your TT. Not to discourage you, but just a few things to think about.