Just Bought a CR2040 - looking to refurb-- could use some info.

John Hale

I just bought a CR2040. Getting prepped to refurbish it. I am not an expert but I have already done a Pioneer SX3800, Marantz 2265B, so a little bit comfortable with this type of work. I have a service manual. However, the Yammy one does not include a parts list -- are those available? Caps list?

I've read the threads on CR-1020 power supply mods and issues - is it similar for the 2040?

Any areas in particular to switch out.pay attention to? For example my Pioneer - it was suggested (and I did) replace all Caps, All transistors (big Job). Marantz was mostly caps and a few transistors. Would like to have a pretty comprehensive Mouser/Digikey order (I live in Germany) so one shipment is better than multiple even if I don't end up replacing all the parts.

I see a fella name Avionics on this forum (I'm an AF guy also) My daughter also happens to be an Avionics Tech.

Thanks in advance, look forward to the new adventure. BTW I've been a stereo nut for about 45 years -- my first store bought reveiver was a Yamaha 4 something I believe, now coming full circle.

John

Thanks, Avionic - Does it have any add'l info? My one reads pretty well and had the Wiring dia. and schematics enlarged and printed from the plotter at work. However, if this othe rone has parts list might be worth it. Do you know of any Service bulletins for the 2040?

E-mail Norman at analog alley. Request and CR-2040 SM.

YES! I had the one from HiFi Engine and purchased the one that @avionic is referring- it's the BOMB - wouldn't attempt restoration without this copy but I have a 1020 and the manual HFE offers is in really poor shape.

Thanks, Avionic - Does it have any add'l info? My one reads pretty well and had the Wiring dia. and schematics enlarged and printed from the plotter at work. However, if this othe rone has parts list might be worth it. Do you know of any Service bulletins for the 2040?