Is MQA in your Future?

Lots of info in this thread. I didn’t have a clue what MQA was when I started dac shopping. I’ve barely scratched the digital surface as I’m just getting started. At first I thought I would be missing out by buying a dac without mqa. However, after doing some basic research, I decided to make my dac purchase based on the features I was looking for and would use. MQA was not one. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t know I was listening to an MQA file or streaming source if it jumped up and bit me in the butt .

Just searched Tidal for the music I love to listen to (European Free Jazz, Avant-Garde).... what a MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT in selection. I'll pass.

Lots of info in this thread. I didn’t have a clue what MQA was when I started dac shopping. I’ve barely scratched the digital surface as I’m just getting started. At first I thought I would be missing out by buying a dac without mqa. However, after doing some basic research, I decided to make my dac purchase based on the features I was looking for and would use. MQA was not one. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t know I was listening to an MQA file or streaming source if it jumped up and bit me in the butt .
You are probably better off not getting a MQA enabled DAC, especially if you are not interested in the tech as you will be limiting yourself to a few DACs instead of all the ones that came before, plus the vast majority now available.. Some DAC mfg's are having nothing to do with MQA including Schiit and it is interesting to read their reasoning..

Quote from Schiit Website here

05/26/2016

Schiit Clarifies Position on a Proposed Audio Format