SHERWOOD S2000 Tuner 6X4 Tube Red Plating?

Grid

I recently bought an S2000 cheap just for the cover. Seller said the tuner was not powering on. But it is working! In shipment, the 6X4 tube came loose and broke. I got another in there. FM sounds fine and so does AM. However, on AM at certain segments of the band, I hear a "motor boating" kind of distortion. The 6X4 glows inordinately brightly. So I'm wondering if I should change the capacitors and those 470 ohm 10 watt resistors. Haven't yet checked voltages on that tube.

I should mention, I'm a mere novice at this.

s2000sch1.jpg s2000sch2.jpg

The resistors may be ok, but the electrolytic caps should be changed, ...strange the schematic says 6X5GT for the rectifier

The resistors may be ok, but the electrolytic caps should be changed, ...strange the schematic says 6X5GT for the rectifier
Yeah, I was wondering about that. I understand, electrically they are the same? But the 6X4 is a mini. I gotta get in there and see if there are those 470 ohm 10 W resistors and if there are those 40 40 40 340V electrolytic caps. I mean, would a 6X4 require that those resistors and caps be rated differently?

The ratings of the caps and resistors should be the same, I am not familiar with the 6X5gt rectifier
Edit:
I looked it up, and they are similar in power handling capability

Last edited:
The ratings of the caps and resistors should be the same, I am not familiar with the 6X5gt rectifier
Edit:
I looked it up, and they are similar in power handling capability
OK, thanks. I did learn that there were several builds of this tuner. I think the 6X5GT was used in "build 1."