Got Some Killer Westwood One 7 1/2 IPS Tapes Need Help Flipping

4-2-7

Smart Ass
Sponsor
Them over. You know tail out flipped upside down or something. I don't know how to do it, the way they stored them, I did do one and messed it up a bit, so there has to be a better way. Fortunatly It's messed up in the applause area of a live tape.

Really cool. Hope you get them fixed. Sorry, I haven't been confronted with that problem, so I don't have a solution for you.

I'm just learning what Westwood One is, It looks like they where licensed to go to venues and record live shows. After doing so they would make tapes to send out for radio broadcasting. It also appears they have added commercials as the one most likely paying for this. Some are marked commercial free. Most these tapes are dated from the 90- 93, analog in a digital age how cool is that?

If there are tail out the most gentle method is just to "play them". Of course you won't want to listen to them as you do this.

They can be rewound but that is not as gentle and will result is a less smooth packing of the tape.

Are you sure of the format, 1/4 track or half track? Mono or stereo?

At one time (way back in the reel to reel tape days) I was the recording and duplication engineer for a local radio program that went out to about 20 radio stations via reel to reel tape and the post office.

I had tapes returned to me wound in just about any manner that you can imagine.

I take it that they will not play as is. I would play one all the way to the end, put the full reel on the supply side and see what happens.