How to safely get PCB out of old amp/preamp/receiver chassis

EJB14

Hi all;

I am new to the restoration/repair of equipment and one thing I keep running into is - do I de-solder all the wires connecting the PCB to the power supply/chassis/other boads etc so I can work on it or leave 'em soldered and work on the board in place?

I have found that the way I like to work is to do a little, test, do a little more, test, etc. - but when I remove a PCB it exposes problems with that methodology. Un-solder too many times and the trace/board starts to de-laminate. Work on the board in place and I have touched wires or things I don't want to touch with the iron by accident. Looking for a better method if there is one.

Recently I've run into a power connection on the NAD 1700 that uses the wires tightly turned on posts in the PCB. I am tempted to just un-solder to remove the board, but perhaps there is some kind of replacement I can use so I don't have to un-solder anything (like replacing the posts with a plug of some kind).

Any ideas?
Thanks!!
-Ed

You will pretty much have to pull some boards but you're right that you don't want to keep pulling and then re-soldering to check.
If you can't access the bottom of a board or something without de-soldering then you have to be meticulous when replacing parts. Lots of good reference photos and replace part for part so you don't get confused. Once done and ready to go back you'll be confident that it should work.

I try my hardest to work around wires and what not so I don't have to de-solder pins. If you slow down and be very careful you can work close to other wires and such without causing damage.

It's possible that you'd be able to replace the pins with a header plug or something but then you're adding another failure point where the two connectors meet. Some amps did have boards with wire connectors and others with edge type connectors like game carts so it's not unheard of.

Welcome to AK BTW!

Hi Ed and welcome to AK! :)