Pulling in stereo radio on 500-C - very distorted

thornev

I'm having problems with pulling in stereo radio stations. I've read Dave's post about adding a 47K resistor to the MPX circuit in order to lower the stereo threshold detection circuitry. I will try that. I am also going to replace the 6GK5 tube.

The problem I have is that when I set the receiver in FM STEREO mode, ALL the stereo stations are incredibly distorted as if they're being over-driven. If I play with the little blue adjustment knob next to tube V102, that helps to reduce the distortion, but it also reduces the amount of stereo signal. (what is that adjustment for anyway? Oh.. the service manual says it's the MPX Separation Control, R215)

Has anyone else had this problem and how did you fix it? I'm new to electronics so please don't get too technical on me. Thanks, Thorne

Last edited:
I'm having problems with pulling in stereo radio stations. I've read Dave's post about adding a 47K resistor to the MPX circuit in order to lower the stereo threshold detection circuitry. I will try that. I am also going to replace the 6GK5 tube.

The problem I have is that when I set the receiver in FM STEREO mode, ALL the stereo stations are incredibly distorted as if they're being over-driven. If I play with the little blue adjustment knob next to tube V102, that helps to reduce the distortion, but it also reduces the amount of stereo signal. (what is that adjustment for anyway? Oh.. the service manual says it's the MPX Separation Control, R215)

Has anyone else had this problem and how did you fix it? I'm new to electronics so please don't get too technical on me. Thanks, Thorne
Start with making sure the tubes in that section are healthy, most problems I encountered like that turned out to be a poor functioning tube.

There is also an electrolytic cap under the MPX unit that can go bad. The output gets distorted if that happens. Worth changing if you haven't.