Help Me Get Started...I Need Everything

I'm starting to understand....awesome crash course here LOL.

One of my concerns is that I keep reading that full frame is "better" (most from seasoned pros writing the articles). It makes me worried that I will want more detail. I don't have a $3,000 budget for a body but I want pro quality of work that could be sold and printed. I will be adding this to my list of services as well. I am a Web Designer and I usually refer clients out to my photographer friends. They often don't have time so it would be good to just be able to do it.

Full frame theoretically is better but it is much more expensive, and everything is bigger and heavier. Crop sensor is as good as anyone needs for any reasonable use. I've made 28"x40" canvas prints from my crop sensor camera and they look great, even very close up.

Think of it this way - crop sensor at say 20+ megapixels gives more resolution and detail than what any 35mm film based system would give. But I recall pro's had no issue shooting 35mm. Lets face it - a lot of pro's are gear snobs and can't deal with the idea that consumer "kit" type stuff can produce outstanding images, that in many or most uses are indistinguishable from what their gear would produce. Plus they can deduct their gear costs etc. so the increased expense isn't really an issue.

Here is a 100% crop of an image I took with my D5500 on Wednesday. It's what - 3 or so inches wide on a typical monitor? And it still looks pretty good. If you made a print that size it would be 33" x 50". And if you really wanted to go bigger you could, because who is going to be looking at huge prints close up?

web crop.jpg

Budget. Canon seems to be more bang for the buck compared to Nikon. Especially the lenses.

And that IS part of my problem. Too many choices makes it even more confusing to a beginner.