What are the main reasons for getting a headphone amp?

Alobar

Addicted Member
I am fairly new to the world of headphones. I have just ordered the Sennheiser HD 579 which are a 50 ohm, open back model and I probably won't play these too loud. I have a rebuilt Kenwood vintage separate amp/preamp now, each with headphone jacks. I know this will probably be a difficult question to answer, but is there an advantage to buying a separate headphone amp for these cans? I am looking at the Schiit Magni 3 as in my budget range, but I obviously don't want to buy it if the Kenwood 700 headphone amp will be just as good.

Having such little experience with headphones I probably wont ever be certain if I am hearing the HD 579's at their best without understanding just what a separate headphone amp can do for me.

Good question Alobar. Although I use a headphone amp (Little Dot MKII) I'm curious as to the answers you'll receive.

What he said.

Many integrated receivers have good solid headphone support, but a dedicated amp tends to be more flexible when matching cans for optimal performance. A new dedicated amp will also be using current tech just not available until recently that can have outstanding impact on what you hear.

* I do know my Maverick TubeMagic runs rings around any of my integrateds for clarity and SQ even after complete recaps. The Maverick DOES have upgraded op-amps, which help a lot.

In the case of planars which provide no feedback to the amp the difference is dramatic. An amp designed for speakers with some sort of aux circuit may drive hp’s well enough but will be comprised compared to an amp design specific to headphones. Some people suffer listening fatigue with headphones which is psychoacoustic as opposed to physical comfort. There are hp amps such as those by Meier Audio with a crossfeed circuit that is effective in reducing this issue.