Supercharged - Maverick Audio TubeMagic D2 DAC

I'm trying to decide which Maverick to get.

Why would you choose the D2+ over the D1+ ?
Seems the analog input on the D1+ is a great addition the D2+ doesn't have.

Last edited:
kray, I personally dont use analogue in and the D2 has better parts than the D1+. Some members have both for that reason

kray, I personally dont use analogue in and the D2 has better parts than the D1+. Some members have both for that reason

Thanks for the response. I’m wondering what “better parts” means besides the DAC (CS vs AD) since I’d be replacing the tube and op-amps myself. Don’t they also have same USB chip?

Thanks for the response. I’m wondering what “better parts” means besides the DAC (CS vs AD) since I’d be replacing the tube and op-amps myself. Don’t they also have same USB chip?

The D1+ and the D2 are completely different internally. I am not an expert but the info can be asked from Ryan from Maverick . The D2 has 3 opamps that need changing as the D2 uses all three to create the analogue out. D1+ I think had 2 opamps and uses just one for tube out and one for solid state out. If you only use tube out then all you have to change is one the opamp that is used by tube out to upgrade the sound. This is all covered by skizo on this thread.
You will find that because the D2 uses all 3 opamps that the sound quality is a bit better than the D1+

Dexa discrete opamps installed. http://newclassd.com/index.php?page=122&curip=17
They are tall, but the cover will fit back on with no modification. They are below the body of the unit. And speaking of cover... Initially I worked carefully sliding the body out of the cover. Ridiculous. The cover is flexible enough to simply bring one side out from under the body, and lift the cover up and over the top. Comes off, goes back on quick and easy.
Tesla 6cc42 from Czech finally showed. Sat in customs in NY for a l o n g time. Date on it is 1962, almost as old as me. Looked virgin though.