The Official Unemployed Discussion Group

tybrad

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I envision this thread as a place for those of you who are in their last 10-15 years of a working life and have found themselves unemployed and looking to re-enter into a job. It will help us to hear from others, provide some support and feedback- discussing with others sometimes allows one to see something new.

I am 56.5 and have been out of work since mid-Sept. I negotiated an exit with my former employer (a school system). I was a classroom physics teacher or 20 yrs. and I'm not going back into K-12 education I REALLY though that taking a Trainer or Instructional Design position would be something easy to slide into. Not so much- 4 months unemployed. I had to learn the new ways to seek jobs and have come to realize that
1. I am very narrowly educated BS in Physics and education, MA in STEM education.
2. There are too many people in the world.
3. Hiring processes are lengthy and obnoxiously complex from bloated HR departments.

It is affecting my mental state and self value.
Who else is there? Lee, I know that you'll hopefully chime in.

My job definition is to work myself out of a job. 5 employers last year, and 5 the year before. 22 different companies in 14 years. I NEVER have any problems paying my bills. But I do feel like human toilet paper at times.
I carry physical tools, and I also carry another set of tools, my skill set. I learn different ways to apply my skill set to accomplish a task using the same tools I have used before.

Last edited:
I envision this thread as a place for those of you who are in their last 10-15 years of a working life and have found themselves unemployed and looking to re-enter into a job. It will help us to hear from others, provide some support and feedback- discussing with others sometimes allows one to see something new.