Analog Optical Recording

OldADC

Folks,
After another long hiatus from when I engaged on this board in 2010, I am back with more questions.

Years ago, I was a phonograph cartridge designer at ADC. There is an old thread here in 2010 that has a bunch of that information. It is really quite intriguing that vinyl is seeing such a resurgence and it does tempt me to build a new cartridge design or two. One might be a moving coil similar to the design used in a paper I published in AES from the 1982 Montreaux conference. Another would likely be to use diamagnetic materials to magnetically suspend the cantilever assembly in a stable ferromagnetic/induced diagmagnetic arrangement such that the cantilever isn't actually physically touching anything.

The burning question is.....does anyone care? It would seem that with the resurgence of vinyl, then a re-imagining of cartridge design to take advantage of more modern materials would be welcome (and by that I mean, guys would actually buy them not just say glowing things about them on web boards.....hahaha)

Finally, and much more radically....would anyone actually be interested in a pure optical analog recording technique and medium? I have worked in the laser design business now for the past 24 years and know that a high dynamic range, pure analog recording technique is possible. The materials for recording and reproduction are possible. The only real difficulty is the capitalization (~$100M) required to introduce a new software media format that would allow all of the recording hardware to write/optically those records (the piece equivalent to a vinyl record), the hardware necessary to manufacture in volume all those records, and all the hardware at the consumer level required to play back those recordings. Clearly, I might (and can) do the technology but will have to team with a serious industry giant who would have the financial resources to introduce a new media format.