fisher MPX decoder troubleshoot

if you have a 1uf 400v Film, replace the lytic with a film. Panasonic ECQ or Cornell Dublier DME series are fairly small in physical size compared to the 56 caddy size of an Orange Drop. The smaller the physical size the less chance of it picking up stray RF interference.

I hope no one will hold it against me if I don't read all 20 pages of this thread, in case my questions were already answered. My MPX has been professionally aligned already and I found that the strength meter was not registering above 3 on strong signals. So I went forward with transformer adjustments. I'm just learning about electronics so please forgive the many and sometimes amateur questions.

In the first page or so, Dave talked about adjusting the limiter transformer and the other 3 IF transformers. I've read the KM-60 "Adjusting without instruments" instructions and adjusted all 4 transformers to get my 500-C strength meter to behave more like it's supposed to. My questions...

1) I was instructed to set the 500-C on FM MONO mode to perform the adjustments which I did. I found that only the limiter (which is Z4) and Z3 transformers had any effect on the meter. Z1 and Z2 did not move the meter. Is that normal?

2) When performing these adjustments, do I do them while on a single FM station that initially reads between 1 and 2 on the meter?

3) Dave mentioned aligning the "discriminator". What is the discriminator? Larry answered me privately. discriminator = Z5. I did not adjust this transformer. Guess I'll have to redo.

4) Once I've done the adjustments, should I repeat the procedure on another mono station, or with the 500-C set to FM AUTOMATIC mode and find a low-registering stereo station? The KM-60 instructions say to redo the procedure on an FM static signal (that is, between stations).