8080db reception is somewhat weak vs. other tuners and receivers I have.

ondaride

While my miniature vintage Lafayette LR-220 has no issues picking up NPR in stereo, Sans tunes it with large noise and broadcast barely audible. In fact there's only one station that Sans can pick up in STEREO while my little one does it with no problem. When I attach external wire to an antenna terminals I get reception slightly better, but not still as good as with Lafayette without external antenna.

What is best to be done in or out?

I believe the Lafayette has a provision to use the AC cord as an antenna. The Sansui requires an external antenna. It would be better to use something like a "T" antenna instead of just a wire.

Cheers,

chazix

Any models in mind? I'm very new to tuners, but hearing John Di Liberto out of Columbus area brings me LOTS of joy on NPR and I want to hear my SANS not my little 10w unit!

Any models in mind?

No particular recommendation, but this is an example of the breed:

https://www.radioshack.com/products/dipole-fm-antenna

If you don't have a Radio Shack in your area any longer, you could search your favorite e-retailer for "dipole" and very likely find essentially the same thing (probably for less $$, too).

This type of antenna is "directional", at least when it is oriented so that the top of the "T" is horizontal. In that case, you would want to have the top of the "T" "broadside" with respect to where the Columbus station is located. Or, you could have the top of the "T" vertical, in which case it would be about equally sensitive to stations located anywhere. Regardless of orientation, generally the higher up you can place the top of the "T", the better.

This type of antenna should be connected to the two Sansui antenna connections that are labeled "300".