MF-300 & Remote Control Acquired

Larry and Gadget;

Yes, sometimes I feel like my hands and tools are just like using a crowbar! Originally the unit did not have K3 engaging as soon as power was applied. This happened after I measured the DC voltage on C8. I don't know what I did to cause it but have to find the problem and repair that before going on to other things within. Someone suggested using a 2N1307 to replace the 2N632 transistor in the remote hand unit. Another person suggested an NTE160 if I remember correctly. In any case I am studying the available parts to see what might work best. I have to get the hand unit working before tackling the receiver to any great effort.

Joe

I just found and made a correction for connection of C17 on the phenolic board. The current version posted is the most recent.

Joe

Dave;

No, I had C17 connected to the wrong solder lug 11, top row on the illustration instead of lug 10. I also had forgotten several jumpers from lug to lug. On the bottom row, lugs 14 & 15 are connected; lugs 17, 18 & 19 are connected; lugs 20 & 21 are connected; and lugs 23 & 24 are connected. I worked from a hand sketch of the board and was duplicating it in Adobe Photoshop and stopped my work at one point, thus loosing my place in the process - sorry! I probably should go back to the schematic and add dashed lines around the Q6 & Q7 related parts on the phenolic board, then post an updated version of the schematic with the lug numbers designating either top or bottom row lugs. I also need to make an illustration of the bottom side of the phenolic board since there are some wires there that I am not sure were duplicated on the top side.

Joe

To clarify issues related to the Phenolic Board further, I examined the underside of the board.
There are numerous connections on the underside of this board as follows:
Solder lug 1 connects to solder lug 17
Solder lug 15 connects to solder lug 20
Solder lug 19 connects to solder lug 9