Cartridge Advice

cloneofkane

“Operator! Give me the number for 911!”- H Simpson
Subscriber
I use following cartridges, all on the same Marantz headshell for relative ease of swapping:

Ortofon 2M Bronze (~30 hours)
Nagaoka MP-110 (~10 hours)
Sumiko Pearl (~40 hours)
Piezo YM-308II (hours unknown)

I've got one more headshell that needs a cartridge to both create a set of 4 complete setups for a display holder I have and, more importantly, to ideally provide a different listening experience.

I am beyond thrilled with the Bronze -- it's been my primary cart this year, and appreciate the MP-110 and Pearl for their neutrality. I bought the Piezo because I regretted selling an Acutex cartridge I once had, and dig it's sound, as well.

I run the 6300 straight through a 2275 and listen primarily to classic rock, alternative rock, and jazz vinyl.

I'm not experienced enough to analyze the spec particulars of the cartridges I own, but I think they are all fairly similar in output (~5 mV).

Would really appreciate recommendations that you believe would produce a different (not necessarily better) listening experience. At this time, I need cap cost at $100-$150. I bought the Piezo well below that and hold it in similar regard as the Nagaoka and Sumiko.

@cloneofkane , are you using the original solid aluminum head-shell that came with the Marantz 6300?

Yes -- they are all original solid aluminum headshells used with the 6100/6200/6300 turntables.

Attachments

• IMG_20180412_111428.jpg
    IMG_20180412_111428.jpg
    69.8 KB · Views: 31
  • MVIMG_20180317_110627.jpg
    MVIMG_20180317_110627.jpg
    75.1 KB · Views: 29
I'd say the Shure M97xE would be your best bet
https://www.lpgear.com/product/SHEC03.html

But if you want to get into a really different sound, AudioTechnica cartridges are usually VERY detailed. Some love 'em; some think they are too bright. I switch between a Shure V15 and an AT14Sa on a Linn Basik.
https://www.lpgear.com/product/ATC06b.html